Newell, Schweiger Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior offensive linemen Colin Newell and Derek Schweiger have been named to the Outland Trophy watch list, given annually to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman on offense or defense.

Newell, a native of Ames, Iowa, started all 12 games and was a First Team All-Big 12 recipient in 2020. Newell, who has been named to several preseason All-America teams, will enter his senior season with 26 career starts. He was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list last week.

Colin Newell

Schweiger, who hails from Plymouth, Wis., was a Second Team All-Big 12 pick and a Burlsworth Trophy semifinalist in 2020 while starting all 12 games.

Derek Schweiger

Newell and Schweiger were key members of an offensive line unit that was one of 11 finalists for the Joe Moore Award in 2020, an award distributed annually to the nation’s best offensive line.

The duo helped the Cyclones break the school record for rushing touchdowns (31) and post the second-best scoring offense (32.9) in school history in 2020.

The All-Big 12 performers also played a part in paving the way for unanimous All-American Breece Hall, who led the nation in rushing (1,572) and broke the school record for touchdowns in a season with 23.