Sports Shorts For Monday

Mound City senior to be Tony Osburn announced via Twitter Sunday he has received his first D1 MBB offer from Omaha.

Friday Mizzou’s Michael Maietti, Iowa’s Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa State’s Colin Newell, Nebraska’s Cam Jurgens & Kansas’ Mike Novitsky were named to the Rimington Award Watch list.  The honor given to the nation’s top Center.


Also Friday Iowa State’s Charlie Kolar and Chase Allen, Iowa’s Sam LaPorta & Nebraska’s Austin Allen were named to the Mackey Award Watch List.  The honor given annually to the nation’s top Tight End.


In addition, Mizzou was picked to finish 4th in the Eastern Division and 7th overall in the Preseason SEC Football Media Poll.  Alabama & Georgia were picked first & second.


Redshirt junior defensive lineman Trajan Jeffcoat and graduate center Michael Maietti earned SEC Preseason second team and third team honors respectively.