Hy-Vee-Sponsored Cars Race In The 105th Running of the Indianapolis 500

Retailer Partners with RLL to Sponsor the No. 45 Hy-Vee Car and No. 15 Car

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa (May 28, 2021) – Hy-Vee, Inc. is participating in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” for a second year as the retailer teams up with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) to sponsor two of their cars in Sunday’s 105th running of the Indianapolis 500. Santino Ferrucci, driver of the No. 45 Hy-Vee car, and Graham Rahal, driver of the No. 15 car, both earned a spot in the Indianapolis 500 after qualifying early on May 22 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Ferrucci claimed the No. 23 spot and Rahal will begin in the No. 18 spot. Sunday’s race day coverage begins at 10 a.m. (CDT) on NBC.

Hy-Vee first partnered with the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team in 2020 as the primary sponsor of Graham Rahal’s entry for Race 2 at the Iowa Speedway in 2020 where he finished third. This is the second year that Hy-Vee is sponsoring car No. 45 at the Indianapolis 500 – which was driven last year by Spencer Pigot. Hy-Vee also sponsored Rahal’s entry in the legendary race in 2020.

“The excitement and energy that the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team brings forth to our partnership is like none other,” said Randy Edeker, Chairman, CEO and President of Hy-Vee. “The team truly cares about its fans just like we care about our customers at Hy-Vee. Since signing on as a sponsor last year, we’ve heard from people all over the country about our involvement in racing. And, we know the Indianapolis 500 as well as the rest of the racing season is something that fans across the country as well as our employees will enjoy.”

“It is great to have Hy-Vee as a partner again,” said Bobby Rahal, co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. “The sense of pride Hy-Vee employees have in their company and what the retailer does to support their local communities is inspiring and something that we too work to emulate every day within our own team.”

Ferrucci, driver of the Hy-Vee car, was named Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year in 2019 after a seventh-place finish, and he finished fourth to race winner Takuma Sato and third place finisher Graham Rahal in 2020. To date, his best Indy car start was second place at Mid-Ohio (Race 2) in 2020 and he has finished in fourth place four times.

For more information about the series or team, visit www.indycar.com and www.rahal.com.