Zamurri Named MIAA Men’s Tennis Player, Freshman Of The Year

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The league office announced today the 2020-21 MIAA/GAC Men’s Tennis Postseason Awards and All-MIAA/GAC Teams. Coach of the Year honors went to Harding’s David Redding, Player of the Year accolades went to Northwest Missouri State’s Andrea Zamurri, who also was tabbed Freshman of the Year. The Sportsmanship Award went to Southern Arkansas’ Yuri Gondouin.

The MIAA and Great American Conference (GAC) played a north – south divisional schedule with five teams from the GAC and four teams from the MIAA in competition. The awards were nominated and voted on by all nine league head coaches.

Coach Redding engineered the Bisons to a No. 1 seed in the South Division after a 9-6 overall record and 3-1 divisional mark. In the most recent NCAA Central Regional Ranking (April 14), Harding was listed as one of four teams. He is coaching his sixth season at Harding and is currently 68-38 overall on the men’s side. He also is the head coach of the Bisons’ women’s program.

Zamurri, a freshman from Rieti, Italy, stands undefeated at 15-0 at No. 1 singles heading into the MIAA Championship. He holds the highest national ranking, in the most recent edition on April 8th from the ITA, amongst any conference player with a No. 6 position. He has won in straight-sets in 10-of-his-15 matches. In doubles play, he has teamed up with First Team doubles partner Franco Oliva to go 10-6 overall, including 8-3 at the No. 2 position. Zamurri has led the Bearcats to a current No. 23-national ranking and a No. 2 seed in the upcoming MIAA Championship May 1-2.

Below is the complete list of the 2020-21 awards.

2020-21 MIAA/GAC Men’s Tennis Awards and All-MIAA/GAC Teams
Player of the Year: Andrea Zamurri – Northwest Missouri State
Freshman of the Year: Andrea Zamurri – Northwest Missouri State
Coach of the Year: David Redding – Harding
Sportsmanship Award: Yuri Gondouin – Southern Arkansas

No. 1 Singles – Andrea Zamurri – Northwest Missouri State
No. 2 Singles – Dani Ortiz – Harding
No. 3 Singles – Manuel Pilotto – Southeastern Oklahoma
No. 4 Singles – Ole Valkyser – Southern Arkansas
No. 5 Singles – Alvaro de Lorenzo – Harding
No. 6 Singles – Agustin Velasco – Northwest Missouri State, Sofiane Bah – Southern Arkansas
No. 1 Doubles – Sofiane Bah and Sander Jans – Southern Arkansas
No. 2 Doubles – Andrea Zamurri and Franco Oliva – Northwest Missouri State
No. 3 Doubles – Guilherme Dos Santos and Thabo Ncube – Southeastern
Oklahoma, Gabriel Breitenmoser and Ole Valkyser – Southern Arkansas
Includes Ties In Voting

No. 1 Singles – Francisco Oliveira – Ouachita Baptist
No. 2 Singles – Yuri Gondouin – Southern Arkansas
No. 3 Singles – Marko Nikoliuk – Southern Arkansas, Paul Haase – Washburn
No. 4 Singles – Luis Tirado – Harding, Bradley Eidenmueller – Washburn
No. 5 Singles – Martin Sanchez – Northwest Missouri State, Daniel Bird – Washburn
No. 6 Singles – Marc Roura Casi – Washburn
No. 1 Doubles – Santiago Kearney and Francisco Oliveira – Ouachita Baptist
No. 2 Doubles – Yuri Gondouin and Marko Nikoliuk – Southern Arkansas,
Paul Haase and Miquel Perez – Washburn
No. 3 Doubles – Fabien Calloud and Agustin Velasco – Northwest Missouri State
Includes Ties In Voting

Honorable Mention
No. 1 Singles – Juan Scoppetta – Southeastern Oklahoma, Raul-Alin Dicu – Washburn, Sander Jans – Southern Arkansas
No. 2 Singles – Santiago Kearney – Ouachita Baptist, Guilherme Dos Santos – Southeastern Oklahoma, Fabien Calloud – Northwest Missouri State, Miquel Perez – Washburn
No. 3 Singles – Morgan Salvan – Harding, Alex Blanchar – Ouachita Baptist, Franco Oliva – Northwest Missouri State
No. 4 Singles – Tobia Fuerschuss – Ouachita Baptist, Fillippo Piranomonte – Northwest Missouri State
No. 5 Singles – Fernando Docters – Ouachita Baptist, Gabriel Breitenmoser – Southern Arkansas
No. 6 Singles – Bryce Walker – Harding