Bailey, Eisworth Named To The Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

DALLAS – Iowa State senior defensive end JaQuan Bailey and senior defensive back Greg Eisworth were named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, announced today by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player.

A native of Jacksonville, Fla., Bailey will go down as one of the best defensive ends in school history.

The senior had his 2019 season cut short after four games when he went down with a season-ending knee injury. Bailey will return for his fifth and final season and is on the verge of breaking multiple career defensive marks.

The two-time All-Big 12 selection, including second-team accolades in 2018, Bailey is currently tied for the most career sacks in Iowa State history (18.5). His career sack total ranks third among active FBS players.

Bailey has started 37 games in his career and his 31.5 career TFL ranks fifth in school history and is tied for fourth nationally among active FBS competitors.

In 2018, Bailey led the team and ranked fourth in the Big 12 in sacks (8.0), the third-best season total in school history. He also led the team in TFL, registering the ninth-best season total in the Cyclone record book at 14.5.


Eisworth is a two-time first-team All-Big 12 recipient, joining a list of just four Cyclones who have earned first-team honors by the Big 12 twice in their respective careers.

The team captain and 2018 Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year tallied 65 tackles and 3.5 TFL in 2019 despite seeing limited playing time due to a shoulder injury.

Eisworth led the team and ranked sixth in the Big 12 in passes defended (11) in 2019 and has three double-digit tackle games in his career, including a career-high 15 vs. Iowa in 2019.

A native of Grand Prairie, Texas, Eisworth has 152 tackles, 15 pass breakups, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries in his outstanding career.

This is the third preseason watch list for Eisworth. He was also named to the Jim Thorpe Award and Bednarik Award in the last week.