Two Northwest MBB Players Named Finalist For Bevo Francis Award

Update:  Indiana Wesleyan’s Kyle Mangas was named the 2020 winner.  Media Release by Small College Basketball


Northwest Missouri State’s sophomore guard Trevor Hudgins and junior forward Ryan Hawkins have each been named among the 14 finalists for the 2020 Bevo Francis Award by Small College Basketball. It marks only the second time that the same school had two finalists in the same year.

Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee are proud to announce the 14 finalists for the 2020 Bevo Francis Award. This list consists of some of the top players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. This is an incredibly prestigious award, as this award will only be given to one player within Small College Basketball per season.

On Monday, April 6, at 6 p.m. (CT) the 2020 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced.

“On behalf of Small College Basketball and the National Award Committee, I sincerely congratulate all 14 Finalists for the 2020 Bevo Francis Award,” John McCarthy said. “Based on our criteria, these players are the elite of the elite in the country during the 2019-20 season. It’s been a joy to watch each of them, and every one of them has had an exceptional season and has helped to lead their teams to tremendous success this season.  I’m so happy for each of them, as they have earned this tremendous recognition.”

This marks the fifth year of the Bevo Francis Award. Past winners include Dominez Burnett of Davenport University in 2016, Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State University in 2017, Emanuel Terry of Lincoln Memorial University in 2018, and Aston Francis of Wheaton College in 2019.

Hudgins (Manhattan, Kansas) led the nation in three-point field goal percentage (53.3% – 105-of-197). Hudgins averaged 19.6 points per game, 6.0 assists per game and 1.5 steals per game Hudgins has already earned first-team all-MIAA, first-team D2CCA all-region, D2CCA region player of the year, MIAA Player of the Year and the Most Outstanding Player at the 2020 MIAA Tournament. Hudgins had 18 20-point scoring games to go along with four 30-point scoring contests. He collected the school’s first triple-double with 10 points, 11 rebounds and 11 assists vs. Fort Hays State (Jan. 25). His 626 points this season ranks as the sixth-most for a Bearcat in a single season. His 191 assists in 2019-2020 ranks as the second-best total in Bearcat history behind his mark of 203 set last season.

Hawkins (Atlantic, Iowa) led the Bearcats in scoring at 22.7  per game, in rebounding at 7.4  per contest, in steals at 2.1 per game and in blocks at 0.8 per game. Hawkins collected eight double-doubles, reached 30 or more points on five occasions and posted 20 20-point scoring contests. Hawkins set the Bearcat single-game scoring record with 44 against Southern Nazarene on Nov. 2. The Atlantic, Iowa, native was selected as the MIAA’s Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season, while also being tabbed a first-team all-MIAA performer. Hawkins poured in 726 points in the 2019-2020 season, which ranks as the third-most points ever scored by a Bearcat in a single season. He is one of only four Bearcats to ever score 700 or more points in a season.

Hudgins and Hawkins become the fifth and six Bearcat finalists for the Bevo Francis Award. Pitts was a three-time finalist and captured the award in 2017. Northwest is the only school to have a finalists in each of the five years the award has been presented.

Northwest’s six finalists for the Bevo Francis Award is the most of any small college. Cornerstone ranks second with three finalists in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

To stay up to date on all things Small College Basketball, please head to

Northwest’s Bevo Francis Award Finalists
Justin Pitts (2016, 2017, 2018)
Joey Witthus (2019)
Trevor Hudgins (2020)
Ryan Hawkins (2020)

Bevo Francis Award Finalists by School
Northwest Missouri State – 6 (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020×2)
Cornerstone – 3 (2017, 2018, 2019)
Augustana – 2 (2016×2)
Babson – 2 (2016, 2017)
Florida Southern – 2 (2019, 2020)
Missouri Southern – 2 (2016, 2020)
Notre Dame (Ohio) – 2 (2016, 2019)
Shippensburg – 2 (2017, 2018)
Springfield – 2 (2018, 2020)
St. Thomas Aquinas – 2 (2017, 2018)
Western Oregon – 2 (2016, 2018)

2019-20 Bevo Francis Award Finalists
Chris Coffey                           6’7”     Sr.       Georgetown
Zaccheus Darko-Kelly            6’6”     Jr.        Providence (MT)
Jhonathan Dunn                      6’4”     Sr.       Southern Nazarene
Brett Hanson                           6’2”     Sr.       Florida Southern
Ryan Hawkins                        6’7”     Jr.        NW MO State
Trevor Hudgins                      6’1”     So.       NW MO State
Kyle Mangas                           6’3”     Jr.        Indiana Wesleyan
Cam Martin                             6’9”     Jr.        MO Southern
Mark Matthew s                      6’6”     Sr.       Nova Southeastern
Selom Mawugbe                     6’10”   Sr.       Azusa Pacific
Nic Reed                                 6’5”     Sr.       Olivet Nazarene
Jake Ross                                6’4”     Sr.       Springfield (MA)
Andrew Sischo                       6’9”     Jr.        Daemen
Nate West                               5’10”   Sr.       LeTourneau