Vanderbilt Wins College World Series

College World Series

Vanderbilt 8 Michigan 2

Vanderbilt (59-12) won its second title in four CWS appearances, all since 2011. The other championship came in 2014. The Commodores also won the SEC regular season and tournament titles this year, set the SEC record for wins, tied the record with 13 draft picks and lost back-to-back games twice.

Freshman pitcher Kumar Rocker named CWS Most Outstanding Player. Mason Hickman got the win in Game 3, 6 innings pitched, 10 Ks, 1 Earned run, 4 hits and 3 walks allowed.

Michigan (50-22) made it’s first CWS appearance since 1984. The Wolverines last won the national title in 1962. Michigan was one of the last four squads to make the 64 team field and is the first Big Ten team to make the finals since Ohio state in 1966.