Gov. Reynolds Tells Iowa’s Story At first American Workforce Policy Advisory Board Strategy Session


DES MOINES – Today, Gov. Kim Reynolds highlighted a dynamic model designed to solve skilled workforce issues at the state level.  The innovative initiative is called Future Ready Iowa. The governor was participating in the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board’s first meeting in Washington, D.C.

Gov. Reynolds joined President Donald Trump, Vice President Mike Pence, Advisor to the President Ivanka Trump, Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross as well as other members of the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board. 

During the strategy session, board members discussed ways to highlight education and training pathways that lead to great careers. They also shared ideas on how to improve the labor market data to better match adults and students with the skills required for the good-paying jobs available in the 21st century.

“With the entire nation facing a skilled workforce shortage, I believe the goals and ideas driving Future Ready Iowa can serve as a model for other states to replicate,” said Gov. Reynolds. “Through the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board, I look forward to developing more collaborative relationships and encouraging other members to share their best practices that can benefit Iowans now and in the future.”

Earlier this year, Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross and Advisor to the President Ivanka Trump announced that Gov. Reynolds has been appointed to the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board.  Established under Executive Order 13845, this Board will work directly with the National Council for the American Worker, leveraging the knowledge of its members to develop and implement a strategy to revamp the American workforce to better meet the challenges of the 21st century. Read that press release here.


Gov. Reynolds has made Iowa a leader in workforce development and job training efforts. Recently, she hosted and participated in the National Governors Association’s last regional summit of the year which focused on creating “Good Jobs for All Americans.”

Other members of the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board include:

Jay Box, President, Kentucky Community and Technical College System
Walter Bumphus, President & CEO, American Association of Community Colleges
Jim Clark, President & CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of America
Tim Cook, CEO, Apple
Tom Donohue, CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Juanita Duggan, President & CEO, National Federation for Independent Business
Elizabeth Goettl, President & CEO, Cristo Rey Network
Marillyn Hewson, Chairman, President, & CEO, Lockheed Martin
Eric Holcomb, Governor, Indiana
Barbara Humpton, CEO, Siemens USA
Al Kelly, CEO, Visa
Vi Lyles, Mayor, Charlotte, North Carolina
Bill McDermott, CEO, SAP America
Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building and Trades Unions
Doug McMillon, President & CEO, Walmart
Craig Menear, Chairman, President, & CEO, Home Depot
Michael Piwowar, Executive Director, Milken Institute
Scott Pulsipher, President, Western Governors University
Ginni Rometty, Chairman, President, & CEO, IBM
Scott Sanders, Executive Director, National Association of State Workforce Agencies
Johnny Taylor, President & CEO, Society for Human Resource Management
Jay Timmons, President & CEO, National Association of Manufacturers
Sheree Utash, President, Wichita State Tech University
Marianne Wanamaker, Professor, University of Tennessee