Iowa Senator Grassley, Others; Introduce Bill To End Government Shutdowns

WASHINGTON – U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley along with Sens. Rob Portman of Ohio, Steve Daines of Montana, Johnny Isakson of Georgia, Mike Enzi of Wyoming, John Barrasso of Wyoming, Jim Risch of Idaho, Mike Lee of Utah and Lisa Murkowski of Alaska introduced the End Government Shutdowns Act to permanently prevent the federal government from shutting down, ensuring that essential government services aren’t disrupted and protecting taxpayers who must bear the resulting cost. The measure will create an automatic continuing resolution (CR) for any regular appropriations bill or existing CR, keeping the federal government open when budget negotiations falter before key spending deadlines.