Sports Shorts – Weekly College Football Honors (SEC/Big 12/B1G)/Naismith POY Candidates

Mizzou senior QB Drew Lock is the SEC Offensive Player of the Week.

Lock led Mizzou to the program’s first road win over a ranked team since 2014, as he was 24-32 and threw for 250 yards (the most against Florida this year) and three touchdowns (the most against Florida this year) in a 38-17 win No. 13 Florida.

Iowa State QB Brock Purdy is the Big 12 Newcomer of the Week.  Purdy was 16-23 for 263 yards and 3 touchdowns in the Cyclones win at Kansas.

Nebraska QB Adrian Martinez is the Big 10’s Co-Freshman of the Week.  Martinez was 22-33 for 266 yards. He also had 2 rushing touchdowns and over 300 yards of total offense.

Iowa State junior wide receiver Hakeem Butler has been added to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, announced today by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Select voters of the award, given annually to the nation’s best receiver regardless of position, will trim down the list to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 12.

Iowa State guard Lindell Wigginton, Kansas guard Quentin Grimes, Kansas forward Dedric Lawson, Kansas State guard Barry Brown, Kansas State forward Dean Wade and Nebraska guard James Palmer, Jr are among 50 players announced for the the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year honor.