Northwest Missouri State Announces 2018 M-Club Hall Of Fame Class

Northwest Missouri State Athletics announced their 2018 M-Club Hall of Fame Class Wednesday.  It includes 4 former student-athletes and 2 teams.  Former Head Football Coach and Athletic Director Mel Tjeerdsma headlines the class.  The 2010-2011 MIAA Women’s Basketball Champions that finished 29-5 is also among the inductees.

(click on photo to enlarge)

MARYVILLE, Mo. – The 2018 Northwest Missouri State University M-Club Hall of Fame class has been announced. Four former student-athletes/coaches/administrators and two teams will be inducted this fall.

The Class of 2018’s individual inductees include early age inductee Scott Kurtz (baseball) and modern age inductees Gabby Curtis (women’s basketball), Andy Erpelding (football) and Mel Tjeerdsma (football coach/athletic director). The two teams going into the M-Club will be the 2009-10 men’s tennis team and the 2010-11 women’s basketball squad. The ages have been established to ensure a focus on candidates from throughout the history of Bearcat athletics. The modern age includes candidates from the last 30 years, while the early age includes candidates from 31-plus years and earlier.

The Class of 2018 will be inducted into the M-Club Hall of Fame during the annual festivities on Fri., Oct. 12 in the J.W. Jones Student Union Ballroom and will be recognized during the Homecoming football game on Sat., Oct. 13. Tickets for the Friday evening banquet are $25 each and may be purchased by contacting Kiersten Orton ( in the athletics office at 660-562-1977. Seating for the event is limited and the deadline to reserve your spot at the banquet is Oct. 5, or until tickets are sold out.

The 2018 class will bring the total of individual inductees to 146. The M-Club Hall of Fame was established for individuals in 1980 and teams were first enshrined beginning in 1989.

Gabby Curtis (2009-2011; Women’s Basketball)

  • 2011 MIAA Player of the Year
  • 1st WBCA First-Team All-America honoree in program history
  • Averaged 18.0 points per game for 2010-11 squad that reached the Final Four

Andy Erpelding (1996-2000; Football)

  • First-Team All-America choice in 2000 by Daktronics, CoSIDA/CCA)
  • Second-Team All-America selection in 2000 by
  • First-Team All-MIAA honoree in 1999 and 2000

Scott Kurtz (1966-1969; Baseball)

  • Held Northwest single-season strikeout record for 48 years with 97 in 1969
  • Also held career strikeout record for 48 years with 223 (despite the squad playing only 93 games from 1966-1969)
  • In 1969, Kurtz struck out 97 in only 58 innings pitched (1.67 strikeouts per inning)

Mel Tjeerdsma (1994-2010; Head Football Coach, 2013-2018 (Director of Athletics)

  • Seven-time nation champion (three as a football coach – 1998, 1999, 2010 and four as an athletic director – football – 2013, 2015, 2016; men’s basketball – 2016)
  • 12-time MIAA Coach of the Year and four-time National Coach of the Year
  • Owns NCAA Div. II record for postseason coaching wins (32)

Women’s Basketball 2010-11

  • 29-5 overall record (MIAA regular season/tournament champions)
  • First and only Final Four in women’s basketball in school history
  • MIAA Coach and Player of the Year (Gene Steinmeyer, Gabby Curtis)

Men’s Tennis 2009-10

  • 22-5 overall (most wins in program history)
  • MIAA champions (regular season and tournament – started a string of eight straight MIAA regular season and tournament titles)
  • Seven first-team All-MIAA picks including MIAA Player of the Year (Malcolm Harrison)