Northwest Missouri State’s Justin Pitts Named MIAA Player Of The Year, Again

For a 3rd straight season, Northwest Missouri State guard Justin Pitts was named Tuesday as the MIAA Player of the Year.  Pitts finished 2nd in league averging 18.8 points per game.  The Bearcats Chris Ebou-Ndow was named to the 2nd team and Brett Dougherty & Joey Whittus were 3rd team selections.  Jeff Boschee of Missouri Southern was named Coach of the Year.

Northwest will meet Pitt State in Friday night’s quarterfinal of the MIAA Tourney.  The Gorillas beat Lincoln in opening round play last night 81-60.  Northwest jumped 3 spots to #7 in this week’s NABC Top 25 Poll.

Other MIAA Tourney scores:

(5) Central Missouri 75, (12) Missouri Western 59

(6) Nebraska-Kearney 84, (11) SW Baptist 77

(7) Ft Hays 71, (10) Lindenwood 65


Quarterfinal matchups Friday from Municpal Auditorium, Kansas City, MO

(1) Northwest Missouri State vs (8) Pitt State 6pm

(4) Central Oklahoma vs (5) Central Missouri 8:15pm

(3) Washburn vs (6) Nebraska-Kearney NOON

(2) Missouri Southern vs (7) Ft Hays State 2:15


Player of the Year
Justin Pitts, Sr., Northwest Missouri

Defensive Player of the Year 
Brady Skeens, Sr., Washburn

Freshman of the Year
Chris Rossow, Fr., Southwest Baptist

Coach of the Year 
Jeff Boschee, Missouri Southern

All-MIAA First Team 
CJ Carr, Sr., Missouri Southern
Trey Lansman, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Justin Pitts, Sr., Northwest Missouri
Spencer Reaves, Sr., Central Missouri
Brady Skeens, Sr., Washburn

All-MIAA Second Team 
Corbin Byford, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Elyjah Clark, So., Missouri Southern
Hadley Gillum, Sr., Fort Hays
Logan Hovey, Sr., Southwest Baptist
Chris-Ebou  Ndow , Sr., Northwest Missouri

All-MIAA Third Team 

Xavier Adams, Sr., Pittsburg State
Brett Dougherty, Sr., Northwest Missouri
Jakob Lowrance, Jr., Central Missouri
Terrance Smith, Jr., Lincoln
Joey Witthus Jr., Northwest Missouri

All-Defensive Team 
CJ Carr, Sr., Missouri Southern
Brett Dougherty, Sr., Northwest Missouri
Jake Hammond, Sr., Central Oklahoma
DJ Richardson, Sr., Central Missouri
Brady Skeens, Sr., Washburn

Honorable Mention All-MIAA 
DJ Richardson, Sr., Central Missouri
Marqueese Grayson, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Brandon Hall, Jr., Emporia State
Stephaun Limuel , Sr., Emporia State
Amariontez Ivory, Jr., Lincoln
Maurice Mason, Sr., Lincoln
Chandler Diekvoss, Jr., Lindenwood
Brad Newman, Jr., Lindenwood
Jackson Price, Jr., Lindenwood
Kinzer Lambert, So., Missouri Southern
Lavon Hightower, Jr., Missouri Western
Ty Danielson, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Lane Rohrich, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Jamir Andrews, Gr., Northeastern State
Donovan Franklin, Jr., Pittsburg State
Javion Blake, Jr., Washburn
Brian Patterson, Southwest Baptist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − 20 =