SEC Coaches Pick South Carolina To Win Women’s Hoops Title; Mizzou 3rd

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — Southeastern Conference women’s basketball coaches have picked South Carolina to win its fifth straight league crown.

The coaches also voted Gamecocks forward A’ja Wilson most likely to win her third straight player of the year award. The league announced the coaches’ selections Wednesday.

Mississippi State was picked to finish second in the league. The Bulldogs lost the SEC Tournament title game and the NCAA Tournament title game to South Carolina last season.

Missouri was voted to finish third, followed by Texas A&M, Tennessee, Kentucky and LSU.

Joining Wilson on the all-SEC first team were Victoria Vivians and Morgan William of Mississippi State, Raigyne Louis of LSU, Sophie Cunningham of Missouri, Khaalia Hillsman of Texas A&M and Jaime Nared and Mercdes Russell of Tennessee.

Preseason Coaches’ Predictions

Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina
  2. Mississippi State
  3. Missouri
  4. Texas A&M
  5. Tennessee
  6. Kentucky
  7. LSU
  8. Georgia
  9. Alabama
  10. Vanderbilt
  11. Auburn
  12. Ole Miss
  13. Florida
  14. Arkansas


Player of the Year

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina


First Team All-SEC

Raigyne Louis, LSU

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

Morgan William, Mississippi State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Jaime Nared, Tennessee

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee

Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M


Second Team All-SEC

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

Taylor Murray, Kentucky

Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Cierra Porter, Missouri

Jordan Frericks, Missouri

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Anriel Howard, Texas A&M

Danni Williams, Texas A&M

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 + 3 =