Kentucky, Michigan Claim Bragging Rights In Conference Tournaments

UNDATED (AP) — The SEC and Big Ten conferences crowned their tournament champions on Sunday.

De’Aaron Fox scored 18 points, and eighth-ranked Kentucky won its third straight Southeastern Conference Tournament championship by beating Arkansas, 82-65. The Wildcats added their 30th tournament title all-time to their 48 regular season championships. Kentucky controlled the game after a 13-0 run made it 46-30 one minute into the second half.

Malik Monk and Bam Adebayo each finished with 17 points for the Wildcats.

Michigan was Cinderella in the Big Ten as the Wolverines stifled No. 24 Wisconsin, 71-56 in the title game. Michigan had dropped 17 of its previous 20 meetings with the Badgers before winning for the fourth time in as many days.

Derrick Walton Jr. scored 22 points, D.J. Wilson had 17 and Zak Irvin 15 while the trio helped the Wolverines shoot 56 percent from the field.

Wisconsin was held without a field goal for the first eight minutes of the second half, allowing Michigan to expand a 33-32 lead to 44-34. Bronson Koenig (KAY’-nihg) had 15 points for the Badgers, who shot just 39 percent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × four =